Chocolate Cupcakes (FF, GF)

IMG_5120[1]I had my annual (or six-month, can’t remember) nutritionist visit a while back, in June. Of course, I was expecting a glowing report from them on how I had gained back the weight I had lost, how I was following the diet so strictly, how I felt so much better afterwards, and how generally healthy I was.

I was wrong.

I’ll state the positives first: Yes, my symptoms have improved 99% since starting the low-fodmap diet. Yes, I have gained weight and grown, so no stunted growth (I personally think I suffered a minor case of stunted growth, because I went from “supposed to be 5’7′” to “supposed to be 5’5″ or 5’6″”). Yes, I am following the diet very strictly. Yes, I am a star patient. Yes, I am mostly healthy.

Mostly. See, I’m still underweight. My lovely nutritionist told me that I need to gain more weight, but it’s not a priority. Also, my calcium was low. Very low. I was having half a Greek yogurt every other day, or something crazy like that.

Needless to say, I was told to try oat milk (after I explained why I couldn’t have LF milk or rice milk) and see how it goes, as well as a calcium supplement, a cheesestick, and a whole Greek yogurt. Per day. I just about cried.

However, now, a month or so later, I am having 1/4-1/2 cup of oat milk per day, along with a 1 oz. cheesestick and a whole Chobani Greek yogurt. My mom ordered the calcium supplements through Amazon (Posture-D, if anyone’s heard of it or knows where to get it locally).

Anyway, I recently was surfing Delicious as it Looks when I came across something that seemed to have been beamed down from Heaven. There it was. A chocolate cupcake recipe that she said, and I quote, “And no one could tell they were gluten-free.”

What more could I ask for? Chocolate + Normal Tasting = LOVE! I did make a few amendments to suit my own needs, though.

Chocolate Cupcakes (FF, GF)IMG_5119[1]
makes 12 cupcakes

ingredients

3/4 cup dextrose
1/2 + 1/8 cup white rice flour
1/4 cup tapioca flour
1/4 + 1/8 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg
1/2 cup oat milk, or milk of choice
1/4 cup canola oil, preferably organic
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup boiling water

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line standard muffin/cupcake tin with 12 liners and/or lightly grease.
  2. Thoroughly combine the dextrose, flours, unsweetened cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in an electric mixer. Add the egg, milk, oil, and vanilla. Beat on medium speed for 2 minutes. Stir in the boiling water by hand. Batter will be thin. Pour into cupcake cups, filling about 3/4 of the way full. Bake 15-18 minutes or until cupcakes test done with a toothpick.
  3. Cool completely and dust with powdered dextrose.

About jadiss55

My name is Natalya. I absolutely love volleyball, writing, and singing. My family and friends are extremely special to me.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment