Part VIII: The Aftermath

There were three reasons why my stomach hurt so badly.

  1. I was constipated.
  2. I had SIBO, which means that bacteria was in my stomach.
  3. I couldn’t absorb fructose, which was in almost every single thing that I was eating.

That explains a lot, doesn’t it? They made me take antibiotics for a few weeks, then probiotics to reintroduce the “good” bacteria into my system, and MiraLax until Christmas, as to taper me off of it.

Yes, there were three big events/holidays after I was diagnosed. One was Halloween, and as you can imagine, I was in tears; hearing others talk about candy and junk only a few weeks after diagnosis is depressing. Another was Thanksgiving, but my mom made all the food fructose-friendly. The last was Christmas, and I had a small reaction to the cinnamon rolls (never try Bob’s Red Mill mixes) that lasted for about a week (well, until today), but other than that, it was fun.

I always remember that some people don’t even have food on their tables, or haven’t been diagnosed and feel as awful as I did. I hope that all those people feel better soon.

The next posts I make will be telling about my experiences from now on, and the website is always under construction. Keep checking back for more!

About jadiss55

My name is Natalya. I absolutely love volleyball, writing, and singing. My family and friends are extremely special to me.
This entry was posted in Fructose Malabsorption, My Story. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment